Denver Broncos: 30 greatest players of all time

Terrell Davis #30 of the Denver Broncos. DIGITAL IMAGE. Mandatory Credit: Elsa/Allsport
Terrell Davis #30 of the Denver Broncos. DIGITAL IMAGE. Mandatory Credit: Elsa/Allsport /
31 of 31
John Elway, Denver Broncos
John Elway, executive vice president of football operations for the Denver Broncos. (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images) /

(1983-98). John Elway. 1. player. 45. . QB

The best quarterback in franchise history and the history of the NFL played for the Denver Broncos.

John Elway was the consummate pro and model for what a Hall of Fame quarterback should look like.

Elway’s arm strength, accuracy, mobility, and gamer mentality place him in the everyday conversation of best all-time. Championships eluded Elway earlier in his career, but it doesn’t matter when you win — What matters is how many you win.

Elway achieved back-to-back Super Bowl wins in 1997 and 1998. His “win at any cost” frame of mind put him in a golden situation to convert a critical first down in Super Bowl XXXII.

The play is forever remembered as “The Helicopter.”

A few plays later, Terrell Davis notched the second of his three touchdowns in Super Bowl XXXII.

More from Broncos All-Time Lists

Denver won Super Bowl XXXII with Elway, but Elway’s career was not finished. The next season Elway won Super Bowl XXXIII over the Atlanta Falcons.

Elway’s presence goes beyond just being a great player. He’s been a well-regarded business person. Elway was the owner of the Colorado Crush but found himself hanging out at team facilities.

The Broncos came calling to make him a paid front office executive in 2011. Elway became the Vice President of Football Operations.

His savvy nature helped snag all-time great Peyton Manning, DeMarcus Ware, Aqib Talib and many other free agents notorious for helping achieve the team’s third Super Bowl.

Elway’s success on the field is special, but as an executive, it is near complete.

Next: Denver Broncos: Top 15 draft picks of all-time

He would be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004, his first year of eligibility.

– CP