Broncos Set to Tee Off in American Century Championship


Notable Broncos are competing in the 25th American Century Championship.

The 25th American Century Championship is set to begin Friday, July 18th in Lake Tahoe Nevada. Please continue reading to find out when notable Denver Broncos (past and present) will tee off, as well as their playing partners.

Group 1 (9:10am PT; First Tee): Denver Bronco Coach John Fox, Trent Green, and Sebastian Janikowski 

Group 2 (9:15am PT; Tenth Tee): Current Bronco punter Britton Colquitt, Josh Scobee, and Robbie Gould

Group 15 (10:20am; First Tee): Former Bronco running back and Super Bowl XXXII MVP Terrell Davis, Jerome Bettis, and Marcus Allen 

Group 27 (11:20am PT; First Tee): NFL Hall of Fame quarterback and current Denver Bronco Vice President of Football Operations/General Manager John Elway, John Smoltz, and Anika Sorenstam 

Former Denver Bronco John Lynch was originally scheduled to appear, but for some unknown reason was not on the final players list. 

While Britton Colquitt and Terrell Davis are making their first appearance in the tournament, John Elway is making his 25th appearance. Elway, along USA hockey player Mike Eruzione, former Chicago Bear quarterback Jim McMahon, and actor/singer Jack Wagner, are the only individuals to have participated in the tournament each year it has been held. During the first 24 years, Elway has finished in the top ten eleven times. His best finishes came in 1999 and 2010 when he was runner-up, and a third-place finish is 2013.

The 25th American Century Celebrity Golf Championship is a 54-hole modified Stableford format, which awards points for pars, birdies and eagles, etc., features many professional athletes, both currently playing and retired, as well as celebrities from the entertainment world. For a complete list of individuals who will be participating, click here.

The first round will be televised live on the NBC Sports Network from 1-4pm PT, while rounds two and three (Saturday, July 19 and Sunday, July 20) will be televised on NBC from noon-3pm PT.

Check Predominantly Orange for daily updates on how Britton Colquitt, Terrell Davis, John Elway, and John Fox perform during each round.

Make sure to follow Predominantly Orangeon Facebook.