Julius Thomas Up For VIZIO Top Value Performer Award


Jan 12, 2014; Denver, CO, USA; Denver Broncos receiver Julius Thomas (80) runs after a reception in the fourth quarter against the San Diego Chargers during the 2013 AFC divisional playoff football game at Sports Authority Field at Mile High. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Denver Broncos Pro Bowl tight end Julius Thomas has had quite a year, so naturally he’s up for some post-season awards. After a season in which he caught 12 touchdown passes, earned a trip to the Pro Bowl, and made arguably the most clutch catches of the season for the Broncos against the Chargers in the playoffs, Thomas has been named a finalist for the VIZIO Top Value Performer Award, which recognizes the player in the NFL who best exceeds the value of their contract with their performance on the field.

The great news is, this is a FAN vote, and we know the Broncos have the best fans in the world, so here’s what to do:

Fan Voting Details

·       Fan votes will determine the winner

·       Fans can cast their vote at: VIZIO.com/TVP

·       Fans can also vote via Twitter. Just tweet with the finalist’s handle along with their custom TVP hashtag

·       Voting is open now and ends January 17.  The winner will be announced later that same week

Thomas is up against some tough competition, but here’s what they had to say about his 2013 season:

  • Julius Thomas (@Julius_Thomas) – Denver, Tight End #80 – #TVPJuliusThomas

A pure athlete, Thomas set numerous Portland State basketball records and led his team to back-to-back tournament appearances before ever playing a snap of collegiate football. Thomas  has emerged as a key asset in arguably the league’s most high-powered offense. Limited in his first two seasons because of injury, the third time is truly a charm for Thomas, as he’s become a league-leader in receiving touchdowns.

2013 base salary: $555,000

Previous Winners:

·       2007 – David Garrard

·       2008 – Matt Cassel

·       2009 – Steve Smith (NY)

·       2010 – Stevie Johnson

·       2011 – Victor Cruz

·       2012 – Russell Wilson