Broncos Name Team Captains


The Denver Broncos have named the team captains for the 2011 season, as reported by the Denver Post.

The new captains as voted on by the other members of the team are quarterback Kyle Orton, offensive tackle Chris Kuper, center J.D. Walton, defensive end Elvis Dumervil, safety Brian Dawkins, and long snapper Lonie Paxton.

Orton, Kuper, and Dawkins are returning captains from last years squad.  Cornerback Champ Bailey and linebackers D.J. Williams and Wesley Woodyard were captains in 2010, but were not voted on to be this season.  Tight end Daniel Graham was also a team captain last year, but he was released by the Broncos earlier this season is now with the Tennessee Titans.

The naming of Orton as a team captain should put an end to any rumors of a possible trade this season.

CORRECTION: This is NOT the final captains list, as the final list will not be chosen until after the 53-man roster is set at the end of preseason.  The above list of players were those chosen as captains for the game against the Dallas Cowboys.  The Denver Post made the correction after posting the first list earlier, which was believed to be the names of the Broncos captains in 2011.

Follow Dustin on Twitter.

Make sure to follow Predominantly Orange on Facebook.