The Super Bowl XLVII logo at the media center in the Convention Center. (Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports)

Super Bowl Sunday 2013: Start Time, Facts, and Figures

Super Bowl XLVII will take place at Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans, LA on Sunday, February 3. Kickoff between the San Francisco 49ers and the Baltimore Ravens is set for 6:30 p.m. ET.

Here’s quick run down of the big game by the numbers.

  • This is the 10th time that New Orleans has hosted a Super Bowl with it being played in the Superdome seven times. Only South Florida has hosted as many Super Bowls.
  • The Mercedes-Benz Superdome has a seating capacity of 76,468. The largest crowd to ever attend a Super Bowl was 103,985 at the 14th Super Bowl at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA. Over 3.5 million people have attended the Super Bowl since the game’s inception.
  • The league office gets 25.2% of the Super Bowl tickets. The AFC and NFC Champions each receive 17.5% of the tickets. The other 29 teams receive 34.8% of the tickets, and the host team receives 5% of the tickets.
  • CBS will cover the game, which is the 18th time that the network has had the rights to the game.
  • Last year’s Super Bowl was watched by 159.2 million viewers in the United States.
  • Last year’s Super Bowl had a record 5,156 accredited journalists covering Super Bowl related events.
  • The NFL and NFL International will distribute the game to more than 185 countries and broadcast in 30 different languages.
  • Winners of the game will receive $88,000 per man. Losers of the game receive $44,000 per man. A player on a division winner participating in the Wild Card round and winning the Super Bowl will receive a total of $172,000. A player on a Wild Card team which wins the Super Bowl will receive a total of $170,000.
  • The San Francisco 49ers are the home team, and will have the choice of wearing its colored or white jersey.
  • There will be seven officials and five alternates as appointed by the league’s office.
  • If overtime should need to come into play, the captain of the NFC team will call the toss. There will be a three-minute intermission after the end of regulation, and play will continue. Should more than one overtime be needed, there will be a two-minute intermission between each overtime. Teams will change goals between each period, and there will be a two-minute warning at the end of each 15-minute overtime.
  • In overtime, each team will have the opportunity to possess the ball at least once, unless the team that receives the opening kickoff scores a touchdown on its first possession. If the team that receives the opening kickoff scores a field goal on its first possession, the other team will have an opportunity. If that team scores a touchdown on its first possession, then the game is over. If there’s a tie score after both teams have possession, the team that scores next (touchdown or field goal), will be the winner.
  • Winners receive permanent possession of the Vince Lombardi Trophy. The trophy is made of sterling silver by Tiffany & Company. The trophy is a regulation-size silver football, stands 20 3/4 inches tall, and weighs 6.7 pounds. It’s valued at more than $25,000.
  • The 2014 Super Bowl will be played in New York/New Jersey (Feb 2., 2014), while the 2015 Super Bowl (Feb. 1, 2015) will be played in Arizona.

Make sure to follow Predominantly Orange on Facebook and on Twitter.

Next Broncos Game Full schedule »

Tags: Facts Super Bowl 2013

comments powered by Disqus