Peyton Manning leaves the field following the game against the Baltimore Ravens during the AFC divisional round playoff game at Sports Authority Field. The Ravens defeated the Broncos 38-35 in double overtime. (Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports)

Peyton Manning Wins AFC Offensive Player of the Year by NFL 101 Awards

Peyton Manning was named the 2012 AFC Offensive Player of the Year by the NFL 101 Awards which is the country’s premier football awards event dedicated to the NFL.

This is the seventh time that Manning has won the 101 Award (1999, 2003-05, ’08-09, ’12). He led the Denver Broncos to their second straight division title and the AFC’s No. 1 seed while setting every major franchise single-season passing record. He was named to his 12th Pro Bowl and he finished the regular season with team records for completions (400), passing yards (4,659), completion percentage (68.6%), touchdowns (37), and passer rating (105.8).

Manning will be presented with the award at the 43rd annual NFL 101 Awards gala in Kansas City, MO., on March 2.

Manning is the third Broncos player to win the award. John Elway won it in 1987, 1993, and 1996, and Terrell Davis won it in 1997, 1998.

A national media committee made up of 101 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL selected the winners in each category.

Other winners this year were Adrian Peterson (NFL Offsenive Player of the Year), J.J. Watt (AFC Defensive Player of the Year), Aldon Smith (NFC Defensive Player of the Year), Chuck Pagano/Bruce Arians (AFC Coach of the Year), and Pete Carroll (NFC Coach of the Year).

Make sure to follow Predominantly Orange on Facebook and on Twitter.




Next Broncos Game Full schedule »
Thursday, Oct 2323 Oct6:25San Diego ChargersBuy Tickets

Tags: Denver Broncos Offensive Player Of The Year Peyton Manning

comments powered by Disqus