Von Miller chases down Mark Sanchez. (Ron Chenoy-US PRESSWIRE)

Von Miller Wins AP's Defensive Rookie Of The Year Award

Von Miller had an incredible rookie season after being drafted 2nd overall in the 2011 draft. He had 11.5 sacks, 64 tackles, and 2 forced fumbles for the Broncos last season.

San Francisco 49er Aldon Smith was also in the running, but Miller (39 votes) beat out Smith (11 votes).

People are saying that the reason Miller won out was because he was an every down player. Miller played strong side linebacker in the early downs and then switched over to defensive end in the later downs when the Broncos were in the nickel package.

“First of all, the award is all for him. He’s the guy who went out and did it. Considering he didn’t have an offseason for us, learning the defense — with the year he had, there’s just so much more upside for him that he’s just going to get better and better.” – John Elway to the Denver Post 

Miller was not the only Broncos player to receive an award Saturday evening. Tim Tebow received the Never Say Never award for his five comeback wins in one season.

Congratulations to Miller and Tebow for these well deserved awards.

Make sure to follow Predominantly Orange on Facebook and on Twitter.

Next Broncos Game Full schedule »
Thursday, Oct 2323 Oct6:25San Diego ChargersBuy Tickets

Tags: Denver Broncos Tim Tebow Von Miller

comments powered by Disqus