The fans have spoken, and the winner of the inaugural "Golden Bucky" award is Denver Broncos running back Willis McGahee. (Chris Humphreys-US PRESSWIRE)

PO "Golden Bucky" Fan Vote Awards - Defensive Player Of The Year

There's no red carpet or bad jokes at this awards show, just Broncos fans voting on who they want to take home a "Golden Bucky". (Dustin Davis)

The results are in and it’s time to hand out the first Predominantly OrangeGolden Bucky” award, and the winner of the Denver Broncos Offensive Player of the Year award for the 2011-12 season is  running back Willis McGahee

McGahee received 54% of the fan vote, with quarterback Tim Tebow receiving 35% and wide receiver Demaryius Thomas getting an honorable mention with 7% of the votes.

McGahee had a terrific year in his first season with the Broncos after he was brought in as a free agent signee in July.  He started in 13 games in 2011, earning 1,199 rushing yards on 249 carries and four touchdowns.  He also made 12 receptions for 51 yards and a receiving touchdown.  His best game of the season came in Week 9 against the Oakland Raiders, where McGahee ran for an astonishing 163 yards and two touchdowns in a 38-24 win for the Broncos.

Congratulations to Willis McGahee on this fan decided honor!  Now, it’s time to vote on the next category, which is Defensive Player of the Year.  Voting ends on Sunday, Feb. 5th at midnight, so get those votes in and tune in next week to see who gets the second “Golden Bucky” award and to vote on the next category!

Who was the Denver Broncos' Defensive Player of the Year this season?

  • Von Miller (73%, 132 Votes)
  • Champ Bailey (12%, 21 Votes)
  • Brian Dawkins (5%, 9 Votes)
  • Chris Harris (4%, 7 Votes)
  • Elvis Dumervil (3%, 5 Votes)
  • Brodrick Bunkley (2%, 4 Votes)
  • Robert Ayers (1%, 2 Votes)

Total Voters: 180

Loading ... Loading ...

Follow Dustin on Twitter.

Make sure to follow Predominantly Orange on Facebook and on Twitter.

Next Broncos Game Full schedule »

Tags: Defensive Player Of The Year Demaryius Thomas Denver Broncos Golden Bucky Awards Predominantly Orange Tim Tebow Willis Mcagahee

comments powered by Disqus