Hall Of Fame Selection Process Skewed

It’s a big football weekend to say the least. The Hall of Fame class of 2010 will be decided today, and the final game of the season will be played tomorrow.

Broncos alums Floyd Little and Shannon Sharpe are finalists for this year’s class and both deserve to be members of the elite group. John Elway and Gary Zimmerman are the only two Broncos to be enshrined into the HOF thus far. Many people see this as an injustice based on the Broncos success over the past few decades. As Woody Paige points out,

” Only two teams have played in more Super Bowls than the Broncos, who have been to six in the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s. The Dallas Cowboys have played in eight, the Steelers seven. The Patriots also have reached six. Twenty Steelers, 16 Cowboys and four Patriots are in the Hall of Fame.” (Denver Post)

The HOF selection process will only spark more future debates. You see, the selection committee is made up of 44 voters. These voters select as many as 5 players, coaches, or contributors plus 2 senior committee candidates. As the list of eligible players, coaches, and committee members grow, the number of people allowed to be enshrined is staying the same. This is how the older guys like Steve Atwater and Randy Gradishar get overlooked more and more as the years pass.

There is a certain trend in the voting process. The “glory positions” get a lot of the votes. Thus, it seems the players who were on offense have a better chance at getting enshrined. The committee also considers how long players played (the reason why Terrell Davis isn’t in there yet) and who the player was playing with. If a wide receiver was catching balls from an elite QB, he is not as highly considered. They also take winning into consideration. That’s why a lot of Raiders are still waiting for their votes (ha ha ha). Finally, they don’t want to take too many players from one team. That’s going to spark some controversy when it comes time for some of the Patriots Super Bowl team members who are awaiting their turn.

I say increase the number of players let in every year. Yes, the HOF is a very elite group, but increasing the number to 7 players/coaches/contributors per year isn’t going to make a huge difference in the status of the Hall. It’s still very difficult to get in, but it will allow more players to be inducted who deserve to be there.

Find out if Floyd Little and Shannon Sharpe make it in today. The 2010 class will be announced at 5:00 p.m. ET.

Next Broncos Game Full schedule »

Tags: Denver Broncos Floyd Little Gary Zimmerman John Elway Randy Gradishar Shannon Sharpe Steve Atwater Terrell Davis

comments powered by Disqus